In 2010 the IYPT is taking place in Vienna, Austria for the second time. In 1999 the Tournament was also held in Vienna.


The International Young Physicists' Tournament (IYPT) is a team-oriented scientific competition among teams of secondary school students from all over the world. Each participating country is represented by a team consisting of five students. More than 25 countries from all continents participate in the IYPT. Therefore the IYPT is a real Physics World Cup.


The International Organizing Committee (IOC) is a body of the International Young Physicists' Tournament (IYPT). Each participating country is represented by one member. The IOC makes all important decisions about the IYPT, which do not directly concern the local organization. These decisions are made by the LOC (Local Organizing Committee). The IOC e.g. decides about the problems for the IYPT.


The Executive Committee is a body of the IYPT. It represents the IYPT to the outside world and it conducts the daily work between IOC meetings. It consists of eight members: The President, the Secretary General, the Treasurer, two elected Members and the Heads of LOC of the past, present and next year.


The Local Organizing Committee (LOC) is the body which organizes and executes the IYPT.


The rounds of the IYPT are called Fights or Physics Fights. Three or four teams participate in such a Fight. The duration of a Fight is approximately three to four hours. A Fight consists of three or four Stages. The exact course of a Fight seems a bit complicated at first glimpse.


A Stage is a part of a Fight. A Stage lasts about one hour and its course is precisly prescribed by the regulations.


The Reporter is the team (or team member, respectively) who presents his solution to one of the 17 problems and defends it in a discussion with the Opponent.


The Opponent is the team (or team member, respectively), who tries to find the strenghts and weaknesses of the Reporter's presentation.


The Reviewer is the team (or team member, respectively), who tries to find and sum up the Reporter's and Opponent's strengths and weaknesses.


The Observer team does not participate actively in the Stage. Observer teams are necessary if the total number of teams is not divisible by three. In that case there is at least one group in the tournament in which four teams participate. Such a Fight consists of four instead of three Stages, since one more Stage is needed before each team has had each role once.


The Captain of a team is its official representative during the Fights. In case of disputes the Captain may make necessary decisions.


The coaching teacher of a team is called the teamleader. During the Fight he or she may not speak to or interact with the team.


July 17 — Problems for the IYPT 2011

The IOC has just finished deciding on the 17 Problems for the IYPT 2011 .


July 15 — Singapore wins the 23rd IYPT

The winner of this year's IYPT is the Team of Singapore followed by Austria, New Zealand and Korea.


July 10 — The IYPT has been officially opened!

President Alan Allinson has just opened the 23rd IYPT.


Read all news